# Do the cms upgrades make permanent changes to the db?

**URL:** <https://community.bloomreach.com/t/do-the-cms-upgrades-make-permanent-changes-to-the-db/863>\
**Category:** Experience Manager (PaaS/OnPrem)\
**Created:** [March 5, 2019, 9:56am UTC](https://community.bloomreach.com/t/do-the-cms-upgrades-make-permanent-changes-to-the-db/863 "2019-03-05T09:56:55Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Nazzanuk](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex027/user_avatar/community.bloomreach.com/nazzanuk/32/242_2.png) [@Nazzanuk](https://community.bloomreach.com/u/Nazzanuk)\
**Post date:** [March 5, 2019, 9:56am UTC](https://community.bloomreach.com/t/do-the-cms-upgrades-make-permanent-changes-to-the-db/863/1 "2019-03-05T09:56:55Z")

</div>

When upgrading 10-\>11, or 11-\>12, and after running the new version initially with `bootstrap=true` does the cms make non-revertible changes to the structure/content of the database?

i.e. would this now render the db unusable with a previous version of the cms?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![machak](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex027/user_avatar/community.bloomreach.com/machak/32/1298_2.png) [@machak](https://community.bloomreach.com/u/machak)\
**Post date:** [March 5, 2019, 10:18am UTC](https://community.bloomreach.com/t/do-the-cms-upgrades-make-permanent-changes-to-the-db/863/2 "2019-03-05T10:18:11Z")

</div>

Yes. You cannot use old version with changes made by newer version. So, create backups before doing this.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Martijn\_van\_der\_Vors](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/8e7dd6/32.png) [@Martijn\_van\_der\_Vors](https://community.bloomreach.com/u/Martijn_van_der_Vors)\
**Post date:** [March 7, 2019, 4:02pm UTC](https://community.bloomreach.com/t/do-the-cms-upgrades-make-permanent-changes-to-the-db/863/3 "2019-03-07T16:02:50Z")

</div>

As others have said, yes, once you upgrade there is no going back.  
From personal experience, trying to run an older version of Hippo on a newer database will irrevocably damage the database. (it was an accident, I swear)
