Maybe it could be a good idea to rename the headContributions HST tag?

As I am new to Bloomreach I am following the tutorials, currently I am on this step:

It feels weird to have a tag called 'headContributions which has categories which can indicate to NOT add it to the html after all? Maybe you could call it ‘hst.clientLib’ instead? I also work with Adobe Experience Manager, so to me that feels like a more logical name for a tag which contains CSS and/or JS.

If you opt for something like this, I guess it would be a good idea to support both for a while but only use the new name in tutorials and remove the old one after a while.

1 Like

The headContributions tag works with the headContribution tags. So it is named to indicate that relation. The intent is to allow sub components to inject elements into the head. It is slightly misnamed however, as there is no requirement for this tag to be in the head. It is often used to inject on the bottom of the page.

The categoryExcludes and categoryIncludes then perhaps become clearer. The excludes will inject all contributions except the ones listed. The includes will only use the ones listed. So you could:

<html>
   <head>
    <hst:headContributions categoryExcludes="scripts"/>
   </head>
    <hst:headContributions categoryIncludes="scripts"/>
</html>

This way you inject all contributions at the top, except the ones that are marked as scripts.

The “head” part is a bit misleading, but the contributions are spot on. It isnt correct to call it clientLib, you can only inject an html element. This can be a script or reference to a script or any other html element, but it isn’t a library.

clientLib was just a suggestion, you just as well can call it
frontendContributions
elementContributions
HTMLContributions

I understood the concept already, but thank you for elaborating on its functionality.

In AEM it is called a clientside-library because: