Relevance: Custom collector & characteristic, etc or not?

Given the following use case:

As a webmaster I want to be able to personalise my website for visitors that came (now or in a previous session) via a link in my email newsletter. Links in my email newsletter have specific utm parameters to recognize them. If the visitors has not come via a newsletter link in x days, we no longer consider him to be a subscriber.

In the past we had enabled the RequestParamsCollector, collecting the utm parameters hoping this would be enough to enable the webmasters to personalise specific components for the visitors. However as https://www.onehippo.org/library/enterprise/enterprise-features/targeting/add-the-collectors-bundle-to-a-project.html says: This collector only collects request data and will not update visitor data. As a result you cannot use this collector for personalization and a characteristic and UI plugin are not available.

So I’ve been wondering what is this collectors use? It only seems to save the parameters as part of the collectorData inside the requestLogEntries, but what is it used for?

Extending and overriding the collector does not seem to be possible either in my opinion, as the #updateTargetingData(...) method needs to return a VoidTargetingData, and I can’t add anything to that. And extending the VoidTargetingData seems like a bad practice to me :wink:

So what is the best possible solution for my use case? Do I need to create a new collector, together with a characteristic, scorer and UI plugin in order for our webmasters to personalise on the utm parameters? I was thinking of creating a targetingData object as followed:

"utmParameters": {
  "newsletter": true,
  "blogAlert": false
}

However… How will it forget these values after ~90 days? Do I need to save a timestamp of the latest moment an utm parameter was collected? Something like:

"utmParameters": {
  "newsletter": { 
    "value": true,
    "timestamp": 1544790513133
  },
  "blogAlert": {